Ed Tech 503- Instructional Design Models Concept Map

Assignment:

Learning Objectives of this activity

Learners will be able to

  1. Synthesize 4 Instructional Design Models found in Gustafson & Branch (2002) book.
  2. Represent their synthesis of the Instructional Design process model in a concept map format. The map will exemplify the format where each node represents a concept and where a link between two nodes represents the relationship between the concepts.
  3. Use a concept mapping tool (e.g. Google Drawing) to draw the synthesized model and publish it to the web.
  4. Compare and contrast one’s own model with those of peers.

As a classroom teacher, I chose to focus my attention on the models geared towards that setting. While I did feel that there were moments of clarity gained by mapping out the ideas within each model, I was also taken aback by how complicated they can look on paper. Much like Professor Freed’s PB&J example (I used to use the same activity in my labs, something that seems simple can end up appearing complex when care is taken to mention details.

I used bubbl.us for my concept map. Although I like the tool, I am a bit unsure of how to present the results here, so I will go with overkill.

